Anxiety

Dealing with stress before calls...

Hi - Ever get anxious before sales calls?

It’s normal so don’t beat yourself up. I get stressed all the time - I had a virtual training session with 900 salespeople in Singapore last year.

This was intimidating as 1) it was such a large group and 2) most of our clients are in the US and Europe, so I didn’t have that much experience with a group of this size.

So what did I do to help calm me down before the call?

An extremely simple breathing exercise.

I inhale for 4 seconds and exhale for 8 seconds, and then continue for 3-5 minutes. Exhaling longer than you inhale allows you to slow down your heart rate, reduce cortisol and relax.

Try it. It’s so simple but works wonders.

If you want to hear the neuroscience behind this technique, listen to the podcast I did with Kaushik Ram here.

Reply

or to participate.